Twitter Scam

Today is the day for scams! A new Twitter scam is surfacing today that lures users with a link promising to tell them how many hours they’ve spent on the popular micro-blogging site.

If you see a re-tweet with the link “I have spent 11.6 hours on Twitter. How much have you? Find out here,” avoid it at all costs. It’s the latest virus spreading through Twitter and once clicked it will take you to an‘application’ called “Time on Tweeter”—the misspelled name should be enough of a reminder.

If you connect with the app it will immediately tweet out the link to all your friends. It will also now have access to all your account info, including you email account and login password.

It is another reminder of why we have to be careful about who and WHAT we trust online. Make sure you trust an application before you give it access to your account.

If you’ve already clicked a link like this be sure to go to ‘Settings’, then choose ‘Connections’ and find the ‘Revoke Access’ feature. Revoke access to all suspicious applications, especially the “Time on Tweeter” culprit.

Then make sure you change your login information. If you have an email attached to the account you may want to change login info to that account as well, just to be on the safe side.

In the future, misspellings are a big sign that an app or link might be a scam. Similarly, strange looking URLs, like the one used in the Southwest Facebook scam last week, are a tell tale. If something looks awkward, a red flag should definitely go up.